Mirai Nikki (The Future Diary)

Well I finished watching this recently and, honestly, I’m just gonna say 7/10.

The twenty episodes were great, 9/10, I couldn’t stop watching. But then, after SPOILER happened, I started getting really confused about what was happening. The whole time travel thing and “Yuno from the ___ word” got really mixed up and I didn’t understand the loops. Also, Murmur’s character didn’t make much sense to me. Did she want Deus to die so she could replace him? Were she and Yuno working together the entire time? I’ve given up on trying to tell.

Akise Aru

Akise Aru is easily my favorite character.

The whole thing about Yukki being a weak main character makes me think: Wouldn’t most people probably act like him if put into that situation? Though I really like what Yuno said to Yukki in the end, which I think was something alone the lines of “I would’ve been fine with anybody so as long as I could depend on them, and you would have loved anybody who would have protected you.“I feel like that’s really true, how it was purely chance that Yuno fell in love with Yukki and Yukki only reflected the feelings because she came to him in the first place. Oh, and I ship Yuki x Akise!

DOKI DOKI!

 

3 thoughts on “Mirai Nikki (The Future Diary)

  1. I’m with you in that I loved this series until the end and then it was a lot of ‘what is going on’ and ‘did that really just happen’. The problem is, I can’t think of a better way to end it. The story more or less forces a ‘and stuff happens’ ending because there just isn’t any other way to deal with the fallout.
    I agree that Yukki and Yuna are definitely in a relationship of convenience but that’s kind of what you would expect in a life or death game. And it’s nice that at least one of the two are self-aware enough to understand that.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  2. Most people mirror your thoughts that the series loses its way as it goes along. I didn’t mind the finale, although I did prefer the diary users trying to outwit each other over the time travel stuff. Yeah, most people would act like Yuki if placed in a similar position. Anime fans won’t however stand for crybabies, as Shinji (Eva) will attest to.

  3. I, too, share the same opinions towards the ending of this series. It was altogether too confusing to make much sense. (By the way, I ship Yuki and Akise too!! ^~^)

Leave a Reply

